top of page

"Stalking Jack the Ripper" Review


Hello to all of you lovelies! Thanks so much for stopping by. I have just finished a thrilling story, "Stalking Jack the Ripper," written by Kerri Maniscalco.

"Stalking Jack the Ripper," is about a seventeen-year-old Audrey Rose Wadsworth, who was born an important lord's daughter, with a life of wealth and privilege stretched out before her. But between her "high-society" social teas and "fancy" silk dress fittings, she leads a forbidden secret life. She has a passion for science and modern way of thinking, which sets her apart from the rest of society during 1888.

Against her stern, germaphobic father's wishes and society's expectations, Audrey often sneaks away to her uncle's laboratory to study the repugnant practice of forensic medicine (which at this time was a misunderstood science for men, let alone a young woman). However, after a string of murders find themselves not only on Audrey's uncle's, autopsy table, but they are also hitting too close to home. Audrey dives head first into the investigation of a serial murderer, of the notorious "Jack the Ripper."

Now if you don't want to be spoiled, stop here. Go read and come back so we can discuss "Stalking Jack the Ripper," together. Goodbye non-spoilery people.

Generally speaking, I don't gravitate towards "thrillers" (so to speak), but I became excited about the prospect, to read about a young woman who defied the odds and ignored the social norms to pursue her passion, I really enjoyed the complex role Audrey Rose played. She was force to juggle multiple roles, a dutiful daughter, a loyal sister, a great scientific mind and a feminist (before feminism was around).

Along the way, Audrey discovers some startling news, which causes her to doubt those who are closes to her. In the midst of her investigation, Audrey finds an unlikely ally in a fellow forensic medical student, Thomas, who also studies under Audrey's uncle.

"Stalking Jack the Ripper," is reminiscent of Mary Shelley's "Frankenstein." The Gothic-type novel has a combination of gruesome descriptions, intrigue, science, mystery and even of bit of romance. Maniscalco was able to balance many different plot points and emotions with diverse characters. I really enjoyed how, Maniscalco allowed Audrey's character to be both feminine and strong.


"I was determined to be both pretty and fierce, as Mother had said I could be. Just because I was interested in a man's job didn't mean I had to give up being girly. Who defined those roles anyhow?"


After the loss of her mother, Audrey's family has never bounced back. Her father has secluded himself within the confines of his home (aside from the times he left in order to fulfill his drug habit), her brother has the appearance of a spoiled, up-tight high-society man-- but we later find out he has many secrets of his own.

However, Audrey's relationships with the people around her, which for me increased the significance of her ability to break the gender restrictions of the time. For example, her relationship with Thomas, was an equal partnership. Thomas respected Audrey's intellect and talents, while Audrey recognized Thomas' superior deductive skills. Their relationship was a cornerstone to the story. As well as, lending a hand to the readers-- as they discussed the details of the case, the audience was able to piece together the clues, alongside Audrey and Thomas.

We were also allowed to learn, as Audrey and Thomas learned, which provided the audience with a unique perspective on the case. This in combination with the dark plot lines, left me on the edge of my seat. There were many moments where the story left me anxious and nervous (I mean, I spook easily, but I'm not going to lie I double checked that my door was locked before I went to bed-- just in case).

I will say that I found the ending surprising. For most of the story I thought "Jack the Ripper" was Audrey's uncle--disguising himself as a scientist. But after his stay in the mental institution, I had other theories. For a time I thought it was Thomas, however I am glad I was wrong in that aspect. Thomas was one of my favorite characters. Not just because he was Audrey's love interest, but also because he was at times the comedic relief in tense scenes and the one who kept Audrey grounded.

I really enjoyed the history behind the story. It is obvious Maniscalco did a great deal of research into the Jack the Ripper case and I can appreciate the creative liberties Maniscalco took, in order to have the story unfold naturally and come to a conclusion (which sadly the true story never did). I recommend picking up your copy today.

Have you had a chance to read "Stalking Jack the Ripper," yet? If so, what do you think? Who was your favorite character? How would you handle this mystery? Would you have continued with your studies? Let me know, I'd love to hear your thoughts!

For now, I say good night and hope that my random ramblings have peeked your inner bookworm. ~BL



Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page